Timetable 2017 - 2018

Every 2nd Thursday will start with Stu Ridley’s ‘What’s up there this month’ review

The visit to Roger Drew's observatory is a moveable feast depending on weather - see below.

Date
Topic
Details

Thursday 14 September 2017

Relativity and space

DRA

Thursday 28 September 2017

Casual meeting - use telescope if clear

ALL

Thursday 12 October 2017

Photography by Jeremy Hunt (Cockermouth Society)

JHU
Thursday 19 October 2017

Eycott Hill Nature Reserve

Outdoor event

Booking essential

see special event page

Friday 20 October 2017 (possible alternative or addition to the above) ALL
Thursday 9 November 2017
The Moon (if fine,postpone and have visit to Roger Drew's observatory instead). THA RDR
Thursday 23 November 2017

Outdoor event Featherstone

(see Special Events page)

ALL
Thursday 14 December 2017

Cassini, Saturn (and Christmas party)

DRA

Thursday 11 January 2018

Watchtree outdoor event (public viewing)

ALL

see special event page

Thursday 25 January 2018

Casual meeting cancelled due to visit by Dalston School pupils

ALL

Thursday 08 February 2018

Exoplanets - Stuart Atkinson

(Eddington Society, Kendal)

SAT
Thursday 22 February 2018 Casual meeting - use telescope if clear ALL

Thursday 08 March 2018

RSPB Geltsdale outdoor event

Booking essential - see special events

ALL
Thursday 22 March 2018 Casual meeting - use telescope if clear ALL
Thursday 08 April 2018

Visit to Roger Drew's Observatory

or talk deferred earlier

ALL

THA

Border Astronomical Society Speakers are:

DRA = David Ramshaw, RDR = Roger Drew, THA = Terry Haighton, SRI Stuart Ridley, CDA = Chris Darwin (Cockermouth Society), SAT = Stuart Atkinson (Kendal Society), Matthew Firth, MFI, JHU = Jeremy Hunt (Cockermouth Society).

Informal meetings will be devoted to general discussion, maintenance of the observatory and telescope and observing if fine. Informal meetings will continue over the Summer period on 2nd and 4th Thursdays of each month.

Please telephone either David Ramshaw (01228543302) to check, particularly in August, as some meetings may be cancelled due to holidays.